Week 3

I really enjoyed this week’s hands-on work, starting off with Chelsea’s demo on Prezi. I have used Prezi multiple times in high school so I am familiar with the basics, but the aspect she touched on that I found interesting was how easy it is to copy other Prezi’s found on the main page if you’re using the free version of the program. I feel like one of the problems with digital writing is the ability to plagiarize simply by copy and pasting, which I don’t think you face in the same way, and as easily, with print.

When exploring the sample letter on the CWRC website, I was very surprised how much say and options one has with the text. You can pretty much manipulate the text any way you want by highlighting a word or phrase and selecting an action for it. I am beginning to realize how much selection and opportunities there are with digital writing that I feel don’t come across at first glance. It is interesting to see the “behind the scenes” aspect of digital writing when examining mark up text, as well as participating in it yourself. Another aspect I found interesting was when posting about the Bob Dylan assignment, I copied out the markup text of the examples I found, only to realize when I posted my response, the markup text had disappeared. It took me a second to realize why it wasn’t showing up, which is because it is language of the Internet and therefore, does not show up on the “outer layer” but is in the “behind the scenes” section of a text.

As mentioned in this week’s reading, “What is XML and why should humanities scholars care?” it explains under the “Types of element content” section how there is “mixed content” (Birnbaum) which contains tagged words in the markup that are considered important. It gives the example of “place” written before “London,” seen as <place>London</place> (Birnbaum). This was further demonstrated in the Bob Dylan assignment when seeing “verb” written before an action, for example. I find this very interesting, as I didn’t think about the markup text that is behind digital writing, and only took it for face value, until now.

Does anyone normally think about the markup language behind text when reading or writing digitally? If not, will you now be more aware of it after this week’s hands-on work?

Birnbaum, David J. “What is XML and why should humanists care?” dh.obdurodon.org.

            dh.obdurodon.org, 28 Aug. 2015. Web. 1 Oct. 2015.

Leave a Reply

