Week 10

I find Fitzpatrick’s anxieties about writing easy to relate to on multiple levels.

1. Fitzpatrick says how difficult it is for her to discuss her writing before it is finished. She says part of the difficulty is that “someone else’s opinions might interfere with my thought processes” (Fitzpatrick 20). I can totally relate to this frame of mind with my own writing. As much as talking out an essay topic, for example, can be helpful and provide clarity, I also feel discussing ideas with others can cause me a lot of confusion, especially if I have already begun writing. Sometimes, when I hear other people’s ideas before I’ve had time to fully understand my own, I become overwhelmed, and question if what I am thinking are even plausible thoughts.

2. “The existence of such an enormous selection of guides to the academic writing process suggests…that we believe that someone out there knows how to be a successful author” (Fitzpatrick 20).

I find this quote funny. I have definitely googled, once or twice, something along the lines of “how to be a successful author.” I have full trust in authors of academic self-help books or sites because I have anxiety about my own writing, and I believe they know how to be successful authors.

3. “…each of us lives with a host of anxieties about writing and about ourselves as writers…” (Fitzpatrick 20).

I think it is important to note that even though Fitzpatrick is a successful author, she still has anxiety about her writing. I think her confession makes her more relatable to anyone who writes.

What aspects of Fitzpatrick’s work did you find relatable, if any at all?

Fitzpatrick, Kathleen. “Authorship.” Planned Obsolescence: Publishing, Technology, and

            The Future of the Academy. 2009: 20-28. Web.

 

Leave a Reply

